stitchable

A blog about sewing

FO: Heating pad with rice

Leave a comment

There are about a billion tutorials for this online, but the point of this blog is for me to keep track of the things I make, so here we are.  I wanted to make a little arm/wrist sized heating pad with multiple channels.

One construction method is to sew the channels first, then sew up the long end at the end.  Here’s a tutorial for that:http://mycreativenergy.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/tutorial-how-to-sew-a-rice-and-lavender-heating-pad/

Another way (and the way I chose) was to sew the channels as I went.  Here’s the tutorial I loosely followed: http://mycreativenergy.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/tutorial-how-to-sew-a-rice-and-lavender-heating-pad/

If I make one of these again I’ll sew the channels first.  Sewing the channels as I went along meant I got vastly different sized sections.  Still, it’s very cosy and it was easy to make.  I haven’t sewn much in a while, so it was good to get out of that rut!

The only cost for this project was the lavender oil ($13) and the emotional turmoil of discovering our brown rice had rice weevils.  I could have done without that.

Quick, a cat pic so you don’t have to visualize rice weevils!

IMG_0576

Leave a comment